the woman who taught me to draw…

February 27, 2012

and paint, see pictures in squiggles and clouds is dead.

I think my mum probably taught me to draw too, but in my memory it is Nan who stands out. Hours spent at the kitchen table practising the pictures on the table mats, trying to instil in the 8 year old me the need for subtlety of line and a soft pencil.  Memory is a changeable beast, Nan’s was for the last 8 years or so, her stories of life repeated and slowly muddled over their telling.  I remember the screwed up balls of frustrated drawings that filled the waste paper bin, tucked away behind the armchair. I think they were the first clear sign I saw that something was changing. I’m not sure where she went, but I’ve been sending her occasional postcards to make her laugh, I hoped. The words on the back becoming simpler and larger. This one was next, I can hear her laughing now.

One Response to “the woman who taught me to draw…”

  1. p.lacey said

    Very moving and just as i remember.And she did laugh,loudly.With Love MUM XX

Leave a Reply

