Longing Cabinet in Neo Print Prize

September 1, 2014

IMG_5197

I’m really pleased to say that the cabinet I cut as part of the Longing Series was selected for the Neo Print Prize. It will be showing at Neo Gallery in Bolton until 2nd November.  I went to see the show this weekend and felt most honoured to have been selected alongside the other printmakers there. It was a great and varied show and well worth a visit if you are anywhere nearby. Too many good works to mention but for now some that caught my eye and, in parts I think, have shared concerns:  Rosey PrinceKaori HommaFiona GradySusan Eyre. Thanks go to the selectors and all at Neo for making the prize happen.

Seeing the cabinet in the centre of a gallery space, rather than it’s original station in the dusty eves of the Islington Mill loft or it’s more recent placement in my living room, was an interesting affair. The cabinet and it’s print were submitted separately for the print prize. In it’s making I felt that the block had become just as important, if not more so, than the print. When the cabinet and not it’s print got selected I wondered if the cabinet could actually stand up on it’s own as a piece of work, without the print to make sense of it. I’m still not sure. The cabinet seemed to puzzle it’s audience, how did I do it, had I burnt it? I wonder if it gets mistaken for a print made onto the cabinet. Does it matter if it does? 

Leave a Reply

